Comprehension

11 Plus English - Preparation and Information

Moderators: Section Moderators, Forum Moderators

11 Plus Mocks - Practise the real exam experience - Book Now
curiousdad

Comprehension

Post by curiousdad »

Hi all
I am a newbie. I am probably starting bit late to prepare my daughter. She is going to yr6. She is finding comprehension a big problem. Not able to focus on key facts. Any help and suggestions on resources please?

I have got some Bond papers and ordered first aid in English. I have also borrowed some books suggested in the forum for her to start reading.

Thanks folks have a good weekend. :)
um

Re: Comprehension

Post by um »

Also try Schofield and Sims Comprehension workbooks 3 and 4

and

Quick Fix for Year 6 comprehension

and

Bond secrets of Comprehension
DIY Mum
Location: Not in a hole in the ground but in a land where once they dwelt-the Beormingas

Post by DIY Mum »

Hi, which area are you based? Comprehension exams vary between regions e.g. Essex and Birmingham exams.

Although Bond papers are beneficial, they can be quite challenging.

To focus on key facts, I found 'Non-Fiction Comprehension' helpful as it provides questions not only on 'whole' text comprehension but also on 'sentence comprehension' and 'paragraph' comprehension too. Only draw back is the US English but having said that, words affected are obviously few e.g. 'color.'

Also found Schofield and Sims books helpful but my Bond 'Secrets of Comprehension' just collects dust! :roll:

Optimist

Post by Optimist »

Unfortunately, there is no quick fix for comprehension. DC need a mix of interest, text decoding, great vocab and an aptitude of reading between the lines (especially for inference questions).