Sir William Borlase

Eleven Plus (11+) in Buckinghamshire (Bucks)

Moderators: Section Moderators, Forum Moderators

Complete Novice

Sir William Borlase

Post by Complete Novice »

I wondered whether anyone on the forum had experience of this school. I don't know anyone first hand who has a child there and I would love to know what the discipline is like, manners of the children etc and also, whether being co-ed during the teenage years is on the whole a positive experience or not. There was a recent news article about a few boys caught with cannabis and the legal drug meow meow. This worries me but it may be that Borlase is no worse in this respect than any of the other grammars or Uppers for that matter.

Any info would be very much appreciated.

Thank you!

CN
Sally-Anne

Post by Sally-Anne »

Hi CN

I can't comment on SWB, but on the "cannabis" reports I can help you out.

Thames Valley Police have been visiting Bucks schools with sniffer dogs over the last few months. When the pupils arrived at school they trotted past the dogs ... and kids were picked up for having cannabis/other drugs about their person.

Each school has handled the consequences according to their policies and degree of courage/ferocity. Several schools had a problem, so SWB will not have been an exception in any way. I hear that at some schools children were expelled, but that is just a rumour.

If I remember correctly we were told about it all after the event, so it was completely unannounced.

Personally I was very happy about the initiative. Others may not feel the same way, but if anyone wishes to discuss that point, please start a new thread, rather than derailing CN's thread?

Ta!

S-A
chillipowder

Post by chillipowder »

I go to SWBGS. The boys were not caught by the sniffer dogs. They were seen in the toilets by a younger student who told the site manager.