county transfer

Eleven Plus (11+) in Buckinghamshire (Bucks)

Moderators: Section Moderators, Forum Moderators

11 Plus Mocks - Practise the real exam experience - Book Now
rishita

county transfer

Post by rishita »

Hi, I am new to this site. sorry for any mistakes. Now we are in maidenhead and my child is preparing for 11+ exams very seriously for this year but last week in parents meeting their teacher told me that in maidenhead there are only three preferences to apply for secondary schools but if we move to bucks/ slough county we get 6 preferences in CAF form.
so we want to move to either bucks/slough area. we are planning to move in the month of August.
Is there any time limit to be there to apply for grammar schools in that catchamant area. or any suggessions please

Iam really confused and in tension.
Could any body help me in this regard.
Thanks in advance.
Jules7

Re: county transfer

Post by Jules7 »

Hi Rishita, I am not an expert but went through the process last year as a parent so can offer some advice.
It is true that in Bucks there are 6 choices on the CAF and in Maidenhead 3 choices (maybe because there is a comprehensive system in Maidenhead but you have both the grammar / upper schools in Bucks?). i believe that school choices for Bucks residents were made in October last year if I remember correctly.
I think if you are seriously considering moving then looking at the catchment areas of the schools you have at the top of the list for your DC would be really important and then correlate it with the allocation profiles (lots of posts on this in Bucks part of the forum). And of course you prob already know that Bucks and Slough have different 11+ exams.

i wonder if the thread might be best posted in the Bucks or Berks section so you can get more advice?
mystery

Post by mystery »