Go to navigation
It is currently Mon Dec 05, 2016 10:32 am

All times are UTC

Post subject: Left Handers for 11+
PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 10:37 pm 

Hello.

I am a GCSE Statistics student at a local grammar school, and I have become fascinated by my recent research for coursework. I surveyed 70 students from 11, and asked them their 11+ result, and whether they are left or right handed.

What intrigues me is that no left handers got less than 121, whereas 9% of those right handers at the grammar got less than 121, therefore on appeal. Does this mean that left handers do not get through on appeal?

My younger sibling, a left hander, did get through on appeal, but is too young to appear in my data.

I need to know of scores for left and right handed children in grammar schools, year 11, and their scores, in order to further the sample and to better draw conclusions.

I am going to post a poll; please respond; so that I can add to my data and give a fairer view.

Please also respond with any information about standard deviation in Buckinghamshire NFER distribution.

Thank you

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 10:28 am 

Does the population of the school have a greater (and statistically significant) proportion of left handed people than the overall population (20% LH, 80% RH)?

Maybe left handed people have a pre-disposition to the type of tests that are used to select.... NVR?...

And.. don't forget the ambidextrous amongst us.

Have fun with your investigations.

Regards
SVE

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 11:43 am 

Hi there

I have twins boys - DS1 (right handed) scored 136 and DS2 (left handed) scored 131.

Thanks
Best of luck with your research.
TM

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 7:49 pm 

Hello Albi

DS is LH and got 118. Failed appeal - because of calibre of school work. It does look a mess, but hey, he's a boy and LH.... Always looks like a spider's crawled across it :D
Bit of general term I know, but gotta keep smiling !