How well is bullying handled in our schools ?

Eleven Plus (11+) in Gloucestershire (Glos)

Moderators: Section Moderators, Forum Moderators

PaterGloucester

How well is bullying handled in our schools ?

Post by PaterGloucester »

I recently had a conversation with a concerned parent about an ongoing (and unresolved) issue with bullying at one of the Gloucester grammar schools. The parent was concerned was that the school was not addressing the problem properly, allowing it to continue.

While any school may have its bullies, the mark of a good school is fast action and zero tolerance. Do any GS parents know of any instances at their school ? (no need to name names - it's how quickly and firmly the school tackles the problem that's the issue).
stroudydad

Re: How well is bullying handled in our schools ?

Post by stroudydad »

I have no experience in grammar secondary school, but our primary is terrible, they just don't seem to want to accept that it happens..
PaterGloucester

Post by PaterGloucester »

stroudydad wrote:I have no experience in grammar secondary school, but our primary is terrible, they just don't seem to want to accept that it happens..
The only time we have experienced it was at the small village primary our DCs attended before we jumped to indie. To be fair, it was more a case of one individual with 'problems' than any systematic troubles: once he'd been dealt with, no more problem. It took time for the school to admit that he was the culprit, and longer still to do anything about it.
Amber

Post by Amber »

I could write the book, sadly.

I won't though, but I would say please don't assume your (as in one's) child isn't a bully.