so - how are the tests actually marked?

Eleven Plus (11+) in Gloucestershire (Glos)

Moderators: Section Moderators, Forum Moderators

steppemum

so - how are the tests actually marked?

Post by steppemum »

Well, the test is done and we await the dreaded results.

but how are the papers actually marked?
I know it isn't an average of the two papers, but how is it done?

I just had a look at the 2012 results table and I couldn't make head nor tail of it.

I thought you got a mark and a ranking.

eg, mark 220 rank 134 for Marling (I know that if you are in the top 120 you don't get ranked)

Any experts out there? :)
capers123

Re: so - how are the tests actually marked?

Post by capers123 »

Don't take the following as acurate - I have no inside knowledge of the marking process.

Firstly each test is marked and a 'Raw score' allocated to the paper. That's purely the number of correct questions. Those two figures are then passed to all the schools that the parents had ticked the box for on the back of the application form.

Each school will then analyise the cohort of children who wanted the results shared with them by age. This gives some kind of a weighting (or multiplier) unique to that school, which is applied to each childs raw score depending upon the month they were born in (and hence level of academic maturity), to ensure that very roughly a child born in July gets the same weighted score as a child born in October if they are of equal intelligence (etc); in other words, to ensure that roughly 1/12th of each intake comes from each month.

Each school will have a different cohort - so children from the Forest may not tick for the Stroud schools due to distance, and likewise Fairford children not ticking for the Gloucester schools (though many parents will have done so out of pure inquisitiveness :) ). Therefore the weighted score for a child for one school can not be compared with the score they got for another school.