opinions on Ribston hall verses The high school for girls

Eleven Plus (11+) in Gloucestershire (Glos)

Moderators: Section Moderators, Forum Moderators

11 Plus Platform - Online Practice Makes Perfect - Try Now
TPO

opinions on Ribston hall verses The high school for girls

Post by TPO »

Hi! i'm new to this site, i wanted to know peoples opinions on my subject??
also might sound a bit dim but what is with the my DD or my DS and DC???? i can see there is a boy girl difference but could some one please explain.
:)

Thanks
tpo x
Burneth

Post by Burneth »

Hi and welcome to the madness of the 11+ forum.

DS, DD and DC are all abbreviations standing for what I believe to be Darling Son, Darling Daughter and Darling Children respectively. There has been discrepancy and discussions in the past regarding exactly what the "D" stands for but hope this helps de-code a little!

Regarding your question, unfortunately I have no experience of either school (other than the fact I went to Ribston many moons ago!) so am unable to assist but I am sure somebody will be along shortly who should be able to help!

B
[img]http://tickers.TickerFactory.com/ezt/d/4;51;459/st/20080902/e/DS%27s+1st+day+at+senior/k/f5bf/event.png[/img]

PS I am Burneth and I am a lady....!
Glos_Mum

Post by Glos_Mum »

Last edited by Glos_Mum on Thu Aug 15, 2013 11:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Orson

Post by Orson »

Glos_Mum

I believe 'High School for Girls' refers to Denmark Road not Stroud High.

TPO

In a nutshell, many regard the High School as more academic whilst Ribston is considered strong in 'the arts', especially drama, dance etc.

This is a very unscientific opinion and I'm sure other people out there can give a more comprehensive view.

Orson
TPO

Post by TPO »

Thanks B for the clear up! I thought so but wanted to check :) .