CAT scores

Eleven Plus (11+) in Kent

Moderators: Section Moderators, Forum Moderators

guest1

CAT scores

Post by guest1 »

Hi, my child sat CAT tests this term and is in year 5 at school. Does anyone know what my child should be aiming for to be in with a chance of passing 11plus in year 6? How are these tests used? I would be grateful for any advice. Thank you

Post by Guest »

Hi Geust1, I am by no means an expert(!) but I can give you my experience, my son scored 120, 90th Percentile in his CAT but failed his 11+!!
....However he did only fail by one point and we are appealing and am using the CAT test towards 'evidence'.
So whether its a good indicator for future 11+ results, I have no idea!!!!!!!!!!

Post by Guest »

Sorry 'guest' not 'geust' ... typing error...honest!!!
patricia

Post by patricia »

Dear Guest1

The following link explains the Cognitive Abilities Test....

http://www.nfer-nelson.co.uk/education/ ... 3/cat3.asp

Patricia
guest1

Post by guest1 »

thanks to guest and patricia, I followed link which explained CAT tests. To be honest I am still somewhat unsure as to how my child scored. I thought they should be close to 140 in each test to ensure pass next year. However, from what I understood from tables, my child would be classed as 5a and 5b, but really do not clearly understand how to interpret data. Does anyone else understand implications for CAT scores?
Peter

Post by Peter »