11+ and moving to kent

Eleven Plus (11+) in Kent

Moderators: Section Moderators, Forum Moderators

yesno

11+ and moving to kent

Post by yesno »

hi we currently live in Richmond London and have to move to Kent for family reasons. I am a newbie to 11+ and whilst it is not essential our DD goes to a grammar we wanted to consider our options.

My DD is in Y5 and we want our DD to be at the same secondary school start to finish, for obvious reasons I would prefer not to disturb her Y6 where she is but at he same time we need to move, it just a case of when.
We will probably not be moved by deadline(s) but maybe exam time(s)

Please can you advise what our options are:

If we move after the application deadline? and register as ooa can we change our address once we move? Can we do this once we move or should we be delayed at the appeal stage?

Same question but if we move after the exam(s)?
Is there a cut off date to change our address such as the CAF results or appeal deadline?

Also we don't have a tutor - is diy ok or do I need to get one asap?
yoyo123

Re: 11+ and moving to kent

Post by yoyo123 »

I think you your best bet would be to contact the Local Authority or visit their website, whereabouts in Kent are you moving to?
U400JB9

Post by U400JB9 »

Hi, having moved DD1 to Kent during year 5 we were woefully ignorant about the selective system and DD was at a big disadvantage compared to her classmates who had all become familiar with the system.

My only advice is to make sure your child is really familiar with the layout and presentation of the Kent Test as it will make a huge difference to the way they cope on the day. We were terribly `blaise` about it all saying if she is clever enough to warrant a Grammar place she`ll pass whatever.......happily she is thriving at our local grammar but her life would have been so much easier if she`d been fully prepared on how it all works.. IYSWIM.

Good luck
yesno

Post by yesno »