Tutors Volume 2, Test 11 and 12

Advice on 11 Plus VR papers and problems

Moderators: Section Moderators, Forum Moderators

11 Plus Platform - Online Practice Makes Perfect - Try Now
JaysDarlin

Tutors Volume 2, Test 11 and 12

Post by JaysDarlin »

Hello everyone. I sincerely appreciate everyones help as I am currently a DIY tutor to my son.

Test 11 - Its all about David, Gary, July, Jade and Mandy, who are aged 14, 13, 12, 12, 11... and you have to find out which two are the same age - its sooo hard! Or do you guys not think so?

Test 12, q11 - time and share are opposite in meaning - how is this? baffled!

Thanks,

Sara.
patricia

Post by patricia »

Dear Jays Darlin

Can you write the questions out in full?

Without actually seeing the question, I am suspecting times [as in multiplying] is the opposite to share [as in dividing]

The question about the ages, sounds like a common Z, whereby you need two columns in order to work out the answer, but we need the rest of the information to help you.

Patricia
JaysDarlin

Post by JaysDarlin »

Hi Patricia. Thanks for this. <hugs>

two words opposite in meaning:

(round allot time) (share generous watch)

I would never have thought time and share were being used in the context of multiply and divide! wouldnt it be more appropriate to say "times" and not "time"?

next question:

Daniel, Gary, July, Jade and Mandy, who are aged 14, 13, 12, 12, 11... but not neccessarily in that order.

Daniel is 2 yrs younger than Jade
Gary is 2 years younger than July,
Mandy is older than Daniel,

Which of them are the same ages?

A Gary, and Daniel
B Gary and Mandy
C Daniel, and Mandy
D Daniel and Jade
E Gary and Jade

hubby has worked out the answer which is B. but i tried so many times and I was completely baffled - is there an easy way to work it out?
Mike

Post by Mike »

Hi Jaysdarlin

(round allot time)
(share generous watch)