Orley Farm, Reddiford and St Helen's College Hillingdon??

Independent Schools as an alternative to Grammar

Moderators: Section Moderators, Forum Moderators

which is best in your opinion?

Orley Farm
65%
Reddiford
24%
St Helen's Hillingdon
12%

Total votes: 17

11 Plus Platform - Online Practice Makes Perfect - Try Now
Lola001

Orley Farm, Reddiford and St Helen's College Hillingdon??

Post by Lola001 »

Hello,

I am trying to decide which of these 3 schools would be best for my 5 year old twins (Boy and Girl). I would be really greatful if any of you parents with older kids have feed back about how academic these schools are, overall education, ethos, postive and negative points not written in brochures! how well do the kids do at 11 plus?

Look forward to your feedback.

regards,
Ed's mum

Post by Ed's mum »

Good luck with your poll. I'm afraid I have no experience of these schools. Is there anything particular that you are looking for? Facilities, ethos etc?
Lola001

Post by Lola001 »

Thanks for your reply. I was looking for academic achievement, ethos and a generally well rounded approach. I don’t want to be swayed solely by aesthetics and what they tell me.
resmum

Post by resmum »

I think Orley Farm is in a different league from Reddiford - i.e. it's a traditional prep school surrounded by green fields which sends some of its pupils to public schools. Reddiford on the other hand is bang in the middle of Pinner and seems to be on a fairly cramped site. It seems to feed into the Northwood and Herts private day schools and the Watford Grammars.

One or two children came back into the state primary system from Reddiford for one year (Harrow has or used to have year 7 in primary school) when they failed to pass the 11+ as the school stops at year 6.

The senior school at St Helens has a good reputation but I don't know much about the junior department.
T.i.p.s.y

Post by T.i.p.s.y »