To Appeal or not to Appeal

Consult our experts on 11 Plus appeals or any other type of school appeal

Moderators: Section Moderators, Forum Moderators

Twinsmum123

To Appeal or not to Appeal

Post by Twinsmum123 »

Hi

I'm a newbie and apologies for the cheesy subject title!

I received the results of my DD's grammar test last week and she came below the qualifying rank. I have subsequently found out she has only missed by 1 or 2 marks (having spoken to other parents whose DC ranked slightly higher) and this could be even less after reallocation next year.

I am considering an appeal due to numerous extenuating circumstances. I have posted to the appeals box as I just want to know in the first instance your views on whether the events in the email constitute extenuating circumstances.

In terms of academic performance, my DD was working to level 5s in reading and writing at the end of year 5, and level 4 in maths - the results were from optional year 6 SATS administered in year 5. I am awaiting parents evening this year but my DD is in a G&T group for reading and writing and working towards level 6 for each and level 5 for maths.

My DD attends a state primary so no CAT scores or reading age tests recently.

I would be very grateful for your input.
Jpk

Re: To Appeal or not to Appeal

Post by Jpk »

which area are you in?
Etienne

Post by Etienne »

Welcome!
My DD attends a state primary so no CAT scores or reading age tests recently.
If the 11+ included tests such as VR, then it could of course have strengthened the case to have had evidence of higher scores in alternative reasoning tests.
Twinsmum123 wrote:I am considering an appeal due to numerous extenuating circumstances. I have posted to the appeals box as I just want to know in the first instance your views on whether the events in the email constitute extenuating circumstances.
Yes, I think so - but academic evidence is always more important.