Go to navigation
It is currently Thu Dec 08, 2016 10:07 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2014 11:35 am 

Hi All,

I am relocating to the West Mids in the summer and need to find schools for my kids. I am keen to try and get them into the Stratford Grammar schools, which I have visited and my kids (Year 7 - boys, Year 9 - girls). As you might expect the schools are full. Any advice on how to launch successful appeals in such circumstances?

PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2014 12:42 pm 

I'm no expert but think you will need to start with having the evidence they are of the required academic ability, are they currently in selective schools? I do know a couple of people who have tried for entry at later dates but none have been successful so I would post on the appeals forum on here for advice.

PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2014 12:48 pm 

serendippyty wrote:
I'm no expert but think you will need to start with having the evidence they are of the required academic ability, are they currently in selective schools? I do know a couple of people who have tried for entry at later dates but none have been successful so I would post on the appeals forum on here for advice.

I think they may also need to pass an entrance exam - details on the WCC website at http://www.warwickshire.gov.uk/elevenplus

JD

PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm 

Also remember that there is Alcester Grammar School which takes boys and girls - transport can be an issue to all/some of these schools as well, depending on where you are living.

PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2014 1:20 pm 

We relocated when my daughter was in year 8 @ sggs. We had to go to appeal even though she had taken and passed the WarK test. All about PAN once capability proven.

PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2014 3:05 pm 

PAN = pupil admission numbers ie availability of spaces?

PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2014 3:26 pm 

stebel5 wrote:
PAN = pupil admission numbers ie availability of spaces?