Go to navigation
It is currently Mon Dec 05, 2016 2:30 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2010 3:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 4:07 pm
Posts: 2660
Dear All

Technical question

I am writing questions in a word document [office 2007] I am very happily double spacing between words just by tapping the space bar twice.

My darling son, who I have roped in to help me [types so much faster than me] says tapping the bar twice is a waste of energy and not a normal reflex.

We have both been on the net trying to find out how to double space between words but to no avail.

Would be very grateful for any input, other than slapping my son.

Patricia


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2010 4:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 11:09 am
Posts: 646
We have the new version of word so not sure if it works on the old.

There should be a button somewhere on the home tool bar called 'Replace' if you can't find it then do a search on 'Help'.

If you highlight the text then go to replace it gives you the option to replace something with something else. In the 'find' box press the space bar and in the 'replace with' box type the space bar twice. Then press the 'Replace alll' button. So now it should replace every space with two spaces.

Hope it works.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2010 5:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 4:07 pm
Posts: 2660
Dear SSM

Thank you so much. Worked perfectly.

My darling son said "oh yeah, I forgot about the replace button!" :evil:

Patricia


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 10:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2008 1:25 pm
Posts: 2556
why would you want double spaces??? :?
(edited because wonky face ended up in the middle of "want." weird.)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 11:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2006 8:51 am
Posts: 8113
I asked the same question - very good reason - addled my brain, but still a very good reason.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 2:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 1:30 pm
Posts: 279
Location: Hertfordshire
I'm still using Word 2003 but if for some reason you need to, you can play around with the character spacing. It's an option within Font, from the Format menu


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
CALL 020 8204 5060
   
Privacy Policy | Refund Policy | Disclaimer | Copyright © 2004 – 2016