Go to navigation
It is currently Sun Oct 23, 2016 7:56 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Sat Sep 22, 2012 8:35 am 

Hi Everyone,

I am new to this....I am preparing my daughter for sept 2013.

I have a couple of questions

1) Should I go for a tutor or home teach?
2) Should I go one to one tution or tutorial groups?

PostPosted: Sat Sep 22, 2012 9:10 am 

Down to personal opinion.

I believe lots of dc's have tutors, but have then I've heard those dc's say that nothing they learned at tutoring came up in the exam. So was the tutoring a waste of time and money? So I don't know if you are more likely to pass if you have a tutor .... or not. Some advertise "high success rate".

I would hate my dc to have tutoring and pass and then struggle at a gs.

I helped (I'm just a parent) and had to learn with my dd. Doubt she's passed but it was good for us both to go through it together. She wouldn't have enjoyed tutoring.

I feel if your dc is likely to pass, they shouldn't need tutoring. As I said, down to personal opinion.

PostPosted: Sat Sep 22, 2012 1:37 pm 

Hi Rosehulk

I think there are pros and cons to each and you need to think about how these apply to you and your daughter.

I was a first timer this year and I've tutored my daughter myself. I am a maths teacher (which doesn't make too much difference in itself at all)

I could plan her study timetable myself and use time to reinforce and practice topics etc. that needed going over
    I could push her more than maybe a tutor would because I know her capability better
    more control over and knowledge about what and how much she's learning
    my daughter didn't feel nervous/feel the need to impress me when studying with me as she might with a stranger.

she knows me better and how to push my buttons - it's difficult to not show the same amount of exasperation with DCs as you might in every day situations - very counterproductive when studying