Go to navigation
It is currently Sun Dec 11, 2016 8:08 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2010 8:52 pm 

Hi all.

I am an 11+ tutor in a UK learning centre which for the time being I shall not name. We run an 11+ preparation program on a weekly basis and I'm having a couple of issues with the way it works, but before I whinge to management I wanted to check it's not me who's the one with a problem.

Our weekly sessions are an hour long including a 5-10 minute warmup, during which we will cover two to three types of questions which might appear on an 11+ exam, e.g. number sequences, analogies etc. As you can imagine, less than twenty minutes per type is a **** of a squeeze and I really feel like I'm doing something of a disservice to my tutees by moving so quickly from sheet to sheet, particularly when a couple of them are finding it significantly harder than others. I always make sure to lead with an example, and once I'm satisfied the majority have some idea of how it works I'll let them get on with the worksheet and help them out on an as-needed basis. I encourage the group of 5 to help eachother (under close supervision of course), as I believe explaining things to others will reinforce their own knowledge of the work.

I just feel very much like I can't do my job properly with the time constraints dictated to me, and while I know a couple of my girls will likely do very well in this environment, I know a couple might not, and I was wondering if anyone had any pointers with regards to teaching methods or time management to make it better for everyone.

Thanks in advance for any advice you can provide.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2010 9:59 pm 

I think you've put your finger on the problem of group tutoring. Not all your tutees are going to work at the same rate, or grasp the material at the same time.