Go to navigation
It is currently Sat Dec 10, 2016 6:58 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2010 7:45 pm 

Can anyone recommend a tutor in these areas?

We live near Turnpike Lane underground and so far I've been doing a bit of home tutoring (approx. 3 hrs a week) and DD is responding well so far. We are applying to St Michael's (1st choice) and also Latymer, and would like to do a bit of more intensive work late summer. I'm sure that tutors get fairly heavily booked by then, so would like to try to provisionally arrange or request something in advance. Obviously we would consider further afield, but wondered if local was an option!

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2011 4:23 pm 

Hi

I am wondering if you managed to find a tutor in the end or if you self taught for the whole process. I am new to this site but from what I have gleaned you and your child were successful-Well Done! I am living in the same area as you and have so far not had much luck with finding a suitable tutor, one had never hear of non VR before, and the other doesnt seem to have much knowledge about the 11+. I too am tutoring my son for about 3 hours a week, it's going o.k. but I feel like we need a bit of extra support.

Any suggestions would be warmly appreciated.

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2011 8:21 pm 

Hi Precious and welcome :D

We tutored her ourselves in the end, which was actually really enjoyable and gave us a clear sense of how things were progressing. I must say that we spent quite a bit on learning materials, especially the English comprehension/composition books as that was her weakest area, and filled 2 smallish plastic crates with them after the tests (ready for dd2). DP worked through the English books on Saturdays, and I covered the NVR and VR during the week. We shared the Maths between us. Are you applying to any other selectives or just Latymer? If it's only Latymer you will only be required to cover the three subjects.