Go to navigation
It is currently Tue Dec 06, 2016 7:53 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Fri Jul 30, 2010 9:55 am 

Hi there, I've been working as a teacher/tutor for around 15 years but have decided recently to focus more on tutoring as it is the part I most enjoy. I'm determined to do everything properly and as well as possible but am unsure of how to have a CRB check carried out (no one has yet asked but I'm aware of the importance of it). I have made a few enquiries but it seems that it's necessary to be employed by an organisation and impossible as an individual.

Any advice would be very much appreciated..

Mary

PostPosted: Fri Jul 30, 2010 10:17 am 

Have you not had one for teaching anyway? You have to get one for each organisation you work in and if you are self employed you need to contact an "umbrella body" to support the application and be the counter signatory

this may help..http://www.crb.homeoffice.gov.uk/umbrella_body_search.aspx

just a random one from the list : http://www.ukcrb.com/selfemployed.htm

PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2010 8:34 pm 

The regulations to be brought in this October had also stated that those working with children and vulnerable adults MUST be registered by the Independent Safeguarding Authority - this was to be done on a 5-year phased basis, and the registration fee included the CRB check.
As we know, lots of changes are afoot politically and so the ISA itself is under review, although I imagine it and its processes will survive, albeit in a reduced form. You may wish to check the website www.isa-gov.org.uk for updates regarding what is happening.

PostPosted: Tue Sep 07, 2010 4:24 pm