Go to navigation
It is currently Mon Dec 05, 2016 2:27 am

All times are UTC

Post subject: Becoming a Tutor
PostPosted: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:46 pm 

Hi all,

I have recently been considering becoming a private maths tutor at home in East Yorkshire. I have a degree in maths, but no real teaching experience, other than helping people out informally.

I was wondering if any teachers or tutors could offer me any advice for getting started. Do you think my lack of teaching experience will be a problem?

Also, if any parents are reading this, would you consider hiring someone without teaching experience as a private tutor for your child?

All feedback and comments appreciated!

Thanks

Andrew

Post subject: Re: Becoming a Tutor
PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2010 6:08 pm 

Hi ajhill,

I am replying from a parents point of view... I would most certainly consider hiring a
tutor without teaching experience. To me, there would be other factors such as how well you are able to teach, rapport with the child, your awareness of what my child should know at the age of tutoring.

Hope the above helps a little bit.

PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2010 6:09 pm 

what age group were you thinking of tutoring?

PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:02 pm 

I think the age group you are planning to tutor is very important. I have only ever taught grown ups.... well medical students anyway. More a matter of passing on info and not necessarily sorting them out if they couldn't get it... just send 'em back to look in the books again, then they were supposed to be academically OK.

Doesn't mean to say that I could EVER teach a group of younger kids - just haven't a clue about the techniques you use to help them if they have a problem understanding things... Best Maths teacher I ever had (Mrs B, KEHS Birmingham) did not have a degree - she was just a blooming good teacher.

It is great if you can do this but how do you know at the mo that you can do it?

PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:08 pm