Go to navigation
It is currently Fri Dec 09, 2016 9:42 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 11:32 am 
Hi, I've just started out as a tutor, although I've been working in education for fifteen years.
Is there a professional organisation I should be joining?

Also, for any parents reading, what would you look for in a tutor, bearing in mind that I won't have lots of ex-pupils to point to as an example of what I can do? I have coached children for 11+, but only family so far.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 11:55 am 

As far as i know there is no professional asssociation. I still belong to GTC and NUT as I also do supply.

When I first started I joined an agency who kept details of tutors aand then matched them to parents. Theh tutor and parent then got together and discussed what was needed. The agaency fee was teh first 2 hours tuition fees and they did all teh leg work. I am responsible for my own tax etc.

It is difficult first starting off and you have to rely on word of mouth a bit. Depending on how many tutees you want to take on and how often you want to work, might it be worth registering on this site as a tutor? It costs £15 per annum.

I've found loads of good advice and help on here. I'm the other end of Kent to you in Shepway

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 12:32 pm 

I'm doing it as a totally self-employed basis so far, as I used to be a childminder and I find the paperwork very similar. I've been tutoring for about five months, and advertise in the local paper. I'm also starting to get word-of-mouth people.

I have registered on this site as well - just! I found it today and find it's really helpful.

I teach for adult education, mainly GCSE English and Maths. It's just how to get past the first year or so, when I'm still building up a client base and getting my name out there. I suspect this sort of thing snowballs once people get to know you and start recommending!