Go to navigation
It is currently Mon Dec 05, 2016 8:41 pm

All times are UTC

Post subject: How much?
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2006 1:14 pm 
Hi everyone,

My name is Jenny and I teach part time. I was thinking about doing tutoring for the 11 plus in my spare time, a couple of evenings a week. However, I need a bit of information before I start:

1 How much do you charge for a hour's tuition - I thought of doing one to one, but I might be able to tutor 2 children at a time. Do you charge less if you have 2 children or do they pay the same as 1?

2 I wanted the children to come to me, as I have children of my own and can't go out in the early evening. Is this reasonable?

3 Do I need to provide all the books, etc. Or is it reasonable to ask parents to provide certain resources such as Bond?

Any more information anyone has would be a big help. By the way, I am a qualified teacher, so am police checked. How can I prove this to any worried parents?

Thank you

Jenny

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2006 5:18 pm 
Considering that 37 people have viewed this thread, I am surprised that no one has commented!

If you are a parent - would you be prepared to come to someone's house and how have you proved that your tutor was police checked? How much did you pay an hour for tuition?

I have read some bad tales about tutors on this website - but I am not a bad person! I just thought that as I tutored both of my children through the 11 plus with success, I might be able to help some other people by tutoring their children.

I am in the West Midlands - and I am NOT touting for business, as I haven't fully decided whether to do this or not.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2006 9:21 pm 

Dear Jenny

How long is a piece of string!!

Your first step would be to do a thorough ivestigation of your area....need to know the system inside and out.

Ensure you know type of exams, type of questions etc....find out about admisssions/appeals.