Go to navigation
It is currently Sun Dec 04, 2016 1:52 am

All times are UTC

Post subject: A question for tutors
PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 4:18 pm 

I am a tutor and have now lost half my pupils as they have taken their 11 plus. I need some new recruits! Apart from posting my details on this site where is good to advertise? Any thoughts much appreciated!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 8:12 pm 

if you find out please let me know!!

I am hoping for word of mouth recommendations. I found last year that demand started towards teh end of teh schoo year in Kent as our tests were not until Jan. may start earlier if teh promised changes take place.

Have you tried the local paper? I am registered with a locla tutoring agence. They take my first 2 lesson fees as payment, but I have had several referrals from them and everything is coordinated by them. Worth considering..

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 8:17 pm 

Yes, I am hoping for the word of mouth! I do think this the by far the best way - I did get in contact with an agency but the money was so terrible that it would not be worth it.....maybe I need to do some more research!!!!

LOcal paper could be good.........................

THANKS

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 8:21 pm 

the agency I am registered with is quite good. They have my details and those of lotsof other tutors and then match any enquiries with a tutor and pass on teh information and contact details. The first 2 hours tuition goes to the agency and then I am paid direct. I am self employed and pay my own tax, liability insurance and NI contributions.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 9:30 pm 

are you allowed to say which agency or what area on this site?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 9:44 pm 

Via PM...

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 11:00 pm 

Hi Sparkle