Kendrick Preparation

Eleven Plus (11+) in Berkshire (Berks)

Moderators: Section Moderators, Forum Moderators

elevenp_parent

Kendrick Preparation

Post by elevenp_parent »

Hi

Our DD is preparing for Kendrick 11+ exam scheduled for Oct/Nov 2009. She is has been going through Susan Daughtrey's VR books, Susan Daughtrey's VR Tests (Bright Sparks), IPS VR Tests, Bond, NFER Tests etc. She has also been going through various NVR tests as well. However, most of these are Multiple Choice format whereas Kendrick exam is Standard format. Are there any other sets of Test that we should be going through with her that have different set of questions which are more applicable to Kendrick?

Any advise would be appreciated.

Many thanks
Complete Novice

Post by Complete Novice »

Hi, My DS is currently preparing (slowly and very reluctantly) for the Reading exam this November and My DD will be sitting Kendrick exam the following year. Although I haven't started giving Kendrick much thought yet, I have read quite a few old posts on the exams and I think the VR preparation you are doing looks about right. Standard VR exams are quite a different thing from Multiple choice as there is obviously far greater scope in the type of questions that can be set,(for example the anagram and crossword type questions), but if your DD has worked through the Susan Daughtrey Practices and Exercises Books 1-4 she should be familiar with all the types that are likely to come up. The practice that she has done on the Multiple choice papers won't be wasted I'm sure: if anything the questions that are common to both Multiple choice and Standard are slightly tougher in Multiple choice as you are expected to make use the answer sheet to help you, particularly with speed. If your DD is practising them without the answer sheet and doing well on the timing then it must be a good sign!