Reading Admission

Eleven Plus (11+) in Berkshire (Berks)

Moderators: Section Moderators, Forum Moderators

Complete Novice

Reading Admission

Post by Complete Novice »

I visited the Reading School open evening last night and thought people might be interested to know that the admissions officer said that the entrance exam will still only be VR or NVR (as well as the English and Maths of course) . I asked him about the "and/or" and he said it should read just "or" and that they did not have any plans to introduce any paper which contained a mixture of VR and NVR.

I did really like Reading School but must admit I was dismayed by the lack of tranport provision. We are on the outer reaches of catchment being in SL6 7 and at the moment are wondering just how to get him there if he should be successful. I know a lot of boys go on the train but I just feel that at 11 it would be too much for him to cope with and I would worry myself to death about his safety. I wondered whether anyone with experience of Reading School knew whether in practice many lift shares are arranged or private mini buses?

Thank you

CM
usa

Post by usa »

Dear CM
The train station is a fair way from the school. It is about a 15 minute walk and he will have to cross a couple of main roads. School starts at 0820, so this automatically means an early set off from the house. Buses do run from the station but how frequently I do not know. Have not heard of any mini buses but SteveW61 will answer later I am sure! There are not many after school clubs so that shouldn't be much of an issue having to stay late. There wasn't too much homework in Year 7 - this was my understanding anyway... It is a good school but if you live Slough way - you may want to consider also Langley, Burnham etc. Keep your options open and start exploring the journey yourself. They grow up quickly but I must admit I would not have wanted my son to have done that walk to the station on a wet and dark afternoon.
Good luck
USA