Coping with the stress - any tips

Eleven Plus (11+) in Birmingham, Walsall, Wolverhampton and Wrekin

Moderators: Section Moderators, Forum Moderators

11 Plus Platform - Online Practice Makes Perfect - Try Now
OldTrout

Coping with the stress - any tips

Post by OldTrout »

Hello all:

absolute newbie here. Child#1 sitting KE exam in September. We've been doing a lot of reading and bond books at home and meet with friends once a week to do a bit of home spun DIY tutoring since start Y5.

All was ticking along nicely until I went to KEFW Open evening and started to also hear about huge numbers taking the test this September (and I guess huge numbers taking the test at QM in July from what I've seen here).

We know we shouldn't let things worry us - but it seems like the pressure just suddenly ratcheted up a notch or two.

For those of you who have been here before - is this normal? Is this the point where what we're trying to do here sinks in and from here on out it is nerves until the day of the test & then nerves until the result?
koala

Re: Coping with the stress - any tips

Post by koala »

Oldtrout. You are perfectly normal. Many on this forum feel the same way as you. Don't worry about anyone else, just concentrate on your DC. The biggest frighteners for me before my two DSs took the exam were the open days and seeing the number of people at the schools and the second was this forum. Although I have since learnt that members are extremely helpful, my first few encounters and reading all the comments frightened me to death. My DC seemed very average and ordinary in comparison to everyone else's DC which made me doubt what I was doing.