Views on High Wycombe Upper Schools

Eleven Plus (11+) in Buckinghamshire (Bucks)

Moderators: Section Moderators, Forum Moderators

Wycombe Mum

Views on High Wycombe Upper Schools

Post by Wycombe Mum »

I'm a newbie on here (lurking for a while, though). I know this is primarily a forum about grammar schools, but wondering if anyone can help with views/recent experience on upper schools in the High Wycombe area? DS has just received his 11+ result which was 113. This was actually a cause for celebration in our household, especially as he did very well on the Maths paper and would have qualified with ease if the grammar schools were just looking for mathematicians! :lol: However, we are not going to appeal as he was not expected to qualify and, having visited both RGS and JHGS, I've come to the conclusion that a grammar school would not be the right place for him in any case.

So now the question is which upper school to put as first preference on the CAF? DS has ASD so needs somewhere which is strong on pastoral care, but which will still push him academically and have extra-curricula activities which interest him. We have visited 6 upper schools but none has come out strongly as "this is the one for us" - they each seem to have different pros and cons. DS is quirky, strong in music (sings in the choir and plays clarinet), also good at maths and computing, likes some sports but only if played non-competitively. Our closest upper schools are Highcrest Academy, Sir William Ramsay School and Holmer Green Senior School. We have attended the open days, spoken to the SEN departments and scoured the school websites, but it's so hard to make a decision. Does anyone have recent experience of any of these 3 schools? If so, what are the good points and not so good points, in your experience?
anotherdad

Re: Views on High Wycombe Upper Schools

Post by anotherdad »