Applying to Bucks Schools

Eleven Plus (11+) in Buckinghamshire (Bucks)

Moderators: Section Moderators, Forum Moderators

Scorch

Applying to Bucks Schools

Post by Scorch »

Hi,

I am very new to the workings of the 11 plus system so really learning as I go.

My priority is to get a handle on where to apply? My home address is in Harrow but there is the added
complication that I am currently abroad. He will sit the exam in 2019 for a 2020 place.

1. I can apply and travel back to UK to sit the test. I know this is not an issue with other consortiums as I personally
know people who have applied and sat the test. Not sure what Buckinghamshire's policy is on this.

2. I have two boys, there seems to be a lot of schools in Bucks to choose from, so I am looking for a steer on which schools to look at. My boys have only have been schooled abroad, in a private system.

I really don't understand the intricacies of this system and don't want to make a mess of my applications.

Typically where do people from Harrow apply to?

Thanks
scary mum

Re: Applying to Bucks Schools

Post by scary mum »

I'm sorry to tell you that your sons won't get a place from Harrow. In Bucks there is a qualifying standardised score of 121, and then the allocations are primarily on distance. Score (other than 121) does not come into it. If you look at the sticky at the top of this Buckinghamshire section you will see the allocation distances for the last few years.

I should also have said that anyone can apply to sit the tests, but you can't apply to the schools without a permanent UK address, is one you are actually living at & can prove it. But this is a moot point, your boys will not get a Bucks school from Harrow.
Last edited by scary mum on Wed Oct 17, 2018 8:45 am, edited 1 time in total.
scary mum
anotherdad

Post by anotherdad »