OMG have I missed open days?! Confused.com

Eleven Plus (11+) in Essex

Moderators: Section Moderators, Forum Moderators

Tigermama72

OMG have I missed open days?! Confused.com

Post by Tigermama72 »

Hi all, I have been going through a few posts here and I am confused when one should attend open days. I was under the impression one attends open days in July preceding the Eleven Plus exam (for example for 11+ exams for 2017, one would attend open days in July 2017, for entry in 2018).
But if it's not so, should I have attended the open days in July 2016? My DS is sitting the Eleven Plus exam in 2017. Also, how do I decide which exam centre to choose? Thanks in advance
PS I am new to the region and don't have a lot of knowledge on the minefield that is 11+.
yoyo123

Re: OMG have I missed open days?! Confused.com

Post by yoyo123 »

Most of our children go to look at the schools in year 5, before taking 11+ in the next September, so you are fine!
KB

Post by KB »

Lots of people around on the forum who will happily help if you have specific questions. It's also worth browsing previous threads.

As to which test centre.
There are comments in previous threads about what happens at different centres.
Many people prefer the smaller centres but they are all well practiced in taking care of the children.
Its also worth making sure you know the area well before hand.
This year some of the centres appear to have got full so it's worth getting booked in early.
ToadMum

Post by ToadMum »

Where do you actually live? It would make sense to register your DS to sit the exam at the school which is most convenient for you, although you have got ages yet for sightseeing around Essex :) . Shoeburyness High School has plenty of parking (assuming that they allow you to park on-site) and may be quieter than, say, WHSB. But a bit of a traipse for 8.15 if you live between Chelmsford and Colchester, though.