waiting list question

Eleven Plus (11+) in Essex

Moderators: Section Moderators, Forum Moderators

11 Plus Platform - Online Practice Makes Perfect - Try Now
Welsh21

waiting list question

Post by Welsh21 »

If your child doesn't get a place at your preferred grammar school on 1st March, how do you find out where you are on the waiting list? Do you contact Essex LEA or the school if hoping for a place at Colchester Girls High school? Also do you have to wait a few days before contacting LEA/ school to find out where you are on the waiting list?
blueshutters

Re: waiting list question

Post by blueshutters »

I would like to know something similar. We have put Chelmsford as first choice and Colchester girls as 2nd choice. I am happy with either dd would prefer Chelmsford although will be fine with Colchester. Do we contact the council re where she is on waiting list if she doesn't get Chelmsford.
Also, this is my first time so bear with me , dd got plenty of points I/c for Chelmsford and green for Colchester. how does it work if she doesn't get Chelmsford even though enough points, from the last 3 years stats. How is she then reviewed for her 2nd choice ? given she has green zone points and yet has put Colchester 2nd choice. Hope this makes sense ! roll on next Thursday was feeling very calm and now starting to stress , can you tell !
scooby doo

Post by scooby doo »

Welsh 21, If you don't get your first choice then you go onto the waiting list. However, the waiting list is not available to view until about the 15th March. You can then log on to ECC admissions where you can view your waiting list position. I had to do this last year. It was a very long wait. DD1 finally got offered a place the day before term started! This was for Colchester.

Blueshutters, If you meet the admissions criteria for your first choice then this will be the school you are allocated. I think you would then be removed from all of the other choices you put on your CAF.