Why is Pate's so sought after?

Eleven Plus (11+) in Gloucestershire (Glos)

Moderators: Section Moderators, Forum Moderators

11 Plus Platform - Online Practice Makes Perfect - Try Now
InquisitiveMum

Why is Pate's so sought after?

Post by InquisitiveMum »

Dear All - I am new to 11+ Forum and am considering entering my DD next year for the entrance exams. Pate's seems to be the most sought after grammar school within the county. Please excuse my ignorance - but what are the reasons for this? Are all grammar schools of not the same standard?
hermanmunster

Re: Why is Pate's so sought after?

Post by hermanmunster »

Hi Inquisitive mum, not from Gloucs so no local knowledge I am afraid!

I suppose how "sought after" a GS is a buit circular - many people look at A level success.
looking at the BBC website, A levels points scores for a Grammar school can vary between 800 ish and 1300 + ish - depending on the school - people often aim for the highest scoring schools and hence they become more sought after, can be more selective and then get higher scores...
InquisitiveMum

Post by InquisitiveMum »

Thanks Hermanmunster. I agree with your assertion on the circular nature of the academic results / selection argument, but then the superior academic performance reflects the cohort not the school. Or have I missed something?

I guess I am trying to get insight into the specifics of why Pate's is more popular. Is there also anything beyond the academic criteria? I would be also very interested to hear from parents who have one kid at Pate's and a sibling at another GS.

In terms of preference for DD, the principal attraction currently seems to be that it is a mixed school, even though it is not the nearest school - hence my request for additional data.
hermanmunster

Post by hermanmunster »

tricky isn't it?