Improving spelling

Eleven Plus (11+) in Gloucestershire (Glos)

Moderators: Section Moderators, Forum Moderators

EmeraldE

Improving spelling

Post by EmeraldE »

Hi all
I know my eldest is a bright boy but he is not great at spelling :? This may cause him some issues in the old VR tests! Thing is he gets his spellings correct in school tests and then a week later in free writing he will spell words incorrectly which he has apparently learned! This is mega frustrating :?

Anyone any good ideas how to improve spelling?

Cheers
yoyo123

Post by yoyo123 »

play scrabble, but using the dictionary to check and look for words.

try googling games for homonyms (there, their, they're ) common mistakes when writing or typing quickly.
MarkyBoy1972

Post by MarkyBoy1972 »

I am no expert - this is just an opinion! That is the health warning out of the way...

I would recommend that he looks to boost his reading as this will reinforce familiarity with the words and spellings that he has learnt. Also worth frequently revisiting the words covered in previous weeks test ... perhaps worth writing the words from the week on a large sheet of paper on the back of bedroom door so that they are seen every morning and they might get into his subconscious?!

The reading will help though as it may not be enough to pass the spelling test if the words are not retained ... reading will build on familiarity.

Computer based activities may also help (if he is into the PC) and they will help the spellings be retained at a time when he is more relaxed.

Sorry if you knew all the above, hope it helps though.
Tolstoy

Post by Tolstoy »