tutor for Queens?

Eleven Plus (11+) in South West Hertfordshire

Moderators: Section Moderators, Forum Moderators

11 Plus Mocks - Practise the real exam experience - Book Now
dino

tutor for Queens?

Post by dino »

Hi All

I am new to this - can anyone reccomend a good Tutor for 11 plus for Queens in Bushy ?

Thanks
AlisonR

Re: tutor for Queens?

Post by AlisonR »

Hi Dino

I'm afraid I can't recommend a tutor for Queens' entrance exams as I don't know any. However, I do know that the exams are the SW herts consortium exams so any advice/tutors recommended for those exams will be useful.

Have a look at the sticky at the top of this forum for more details about the format of the exam.

My DS did these exams a couple of years back and we mainly prepped him with the Bond VR and maths books to give him familiarity with the types of questions involved. Nearer to the test date we started working through a variety of test papers of the standard format variety (not multiple choice) to build up speed. We used any papers we could get our hands on.

When are you looking to apply for Queens'?

Good luck
Alison
dino

Post by dino »

Thank you very much - this is useful, my DS is looking to apply next year.
cindrella

Post by cindrella »

I am wondering how do we know who is a good tutor? - I've heard some tutors just teach with learninig point of view and some rigorously just with the entrances in mind. When we ask them they just say ' Yeah all the material I will do will prepare them for the tests!'
Parents don't know even if they recommend the ones they had for their kids.. for sure if they are the best!
How much is reasonable amount to pay for an hour? I talked to one who wants £60! one hour per week ,will do all the papers there are!
Can anyone advise please! With my older son I never had a tutor, but this time I do want to consider it as my DS just got in on the waiting list..
Please help.
Cinderella
Luna

Post by Luna »