11plus score Vs School offer

Eleven Plus (11+) in South West Hertfordshire

Moderators: Section Moderators, Forum Moderators

Abbotsdad

11plus score Vs School offer

Post by Abbotsdad »

Hi all, I am new to the 11plus forum and a parent of a year 6 who has just had his 11plus results.

My question is really for any parent who has been through the 11plus in previous years. Where your child has meet the minimum score for academic or for music for a particular school, have they been offered a place at that school and was it their first choice?

The reason for asking, I want to know whether or not I should be worried about not getting our 1st choice even though my Ds got a very high mark in music but his academic was just on the line depending on which school we choose. Hope this is clear.
ToadMum

Re: 11plus score Vs School offer

Post by ToadMum »

Abbotsdad wrote:Hi all, I am new to the 11plus forum and a parent of a year 6 who has just had his 11plus results.

My question is really for any parent who has been through the 11plus in previous years. Where your child has meet the minimum score for academic or for music for a particular school, have they been offered a place at that school and was it their first choice?

The reason for asking, I want to know whether or not I should be worried about not getting our 1st choice even though my Ds got a very high mark in music but his academic was just on the line depending on which school we choose. Hope this is clear.
If this is a comprehensive school offering a certain number of places on musical ability and a certain number on academic ability as two of its oversubscription categories, then a low score in the one will not stop a high score in the other qualifying an applicant for a place. It's like, you might not be a sibling, but you might live close enough for a distance place.
Outside of a dog, a book is a man's best friend. Inside of a dog it's too dark to read.Groucho Marx
Daogroupie

Post by Daogroupie »