St ambrose results

Eleven Plus (11+) in Trafford

Moderators: Section Moderators, Forum Moderators

payel123

St ambrose results

Post by payel123 »

Hiya

received the ambrose results today.DS has passed & scored 358 out of 410.i am curious to understand the scoring.the break up of his scores maths-124:English 122 and VR-112.
I am guessing these are standardised scores?
DS’s strong points are maths and VR hence I am baffled that he got the lowest in VR.is it because VR paper had a lower total /weightage?if 410 is the total each couldn’t be 150 so could it be that maths and English were out of 140/150 each and VR 110/120.Just trying to figure out .Can anyone throw any light ?

TIA
mitasol

Re: St ambrose results

Post by mitasol »

I’m not an expert in Trafford but it seems most likely that The VR is out of 140/141 which is standard for GL. The others appear to be set and standardised in house.

In terms of your question about a lower VR score you have to keep in mind that a standardised score is not simply a reflection of how well your child did in the test. It is effectively a ranking of how well he did when compared with the rest of the cohort.

Hopefully someone with local knowledge can provide a more definitive answer.
ToadMum

Post by ToadMum »

They almost certainly are standardised scores and as such, are not out of anything.

The GL website has a good explanation of standardisation, iirc.
Outside of a dog, a book is a man's best friend. Inside of a dog it's too dark to read.Groucho Marx
payel123

Post by payel123 »

mitasol wrote:I’m not an expert in Trafford but it seems most likely that The VR is out of 140/141 which is standard for GL. The others appear to be set and standardised in house.

In terms of your question about a lower VR score you have to keep in mind that a standardised score is not simply a reflection of how well your child did in the test. It is effectively a ranking of how well he did when compared with the rest of the cohort.