Do privately educated kids have 'x factor', and what is it?

Independent Schools as an alternative to Grammar

Moderators: Section Moderators, Forum Moderators

11 Plus Mocks - Practise the real exam experience - Book Now
Peppermint Patty

Do privately educated kids have 'x factor', and what is it?

Post by Peppermint Patty »

Hi everyone,

I'm really baffled by this, and am hoping for some advice.

What really is there to be gained from an independent school that children can't get at grammar or an excellent state comprehensive?

My son is so far doing well on selective state secondary entrance tests and like most parents we're awaiting national offer day with bated breath.

His dad also entered him for a highly regarded independent school 'just in case'. I have no experience of indies, assumed his dad was bonkers, DS wouldn't be selected so didn't pay much attention. But he passed the entrance exam and has just had an interview.

We have modest means, so if the school accepts him we might qualify for fees assistance and could just about scrape together the rest, though it would have a significant impact on our household finances.

I've heard people talk about an 'x factor' that stands out in independently educated children. What is it, and how do they get it? Like I said, I have no experience of independent schools and feel completely lost.

Thanks in advance
T.i.p.s.y

Post by T.i.p.s.y »

I think you may have started a controversial debate! :lol:

All schools are different, whether they be comps, GS or indies and the area they are in is usually a factor in their make-up. A GS in London probably mirrors a good comp in the shires and a GS in Ripon (for example) mirrors a good independent day school. The major expensive Public Schools are very different, which you may view as a positive or negative, but I assume you are not looking at them.

Personally, if you have an offer of GS and you are very happy with it then you should take it. :)
hermanmunster