Independents and debt collection for unpaid fees

Independent Schools as an alternative to Grammar

Moderators: Section Moderators, Forum Moderators

11 Plus Platform - Online Practice Makes Perfect - Try Now

Independents and debt collection for unpaid fees

Post by Guest »

My child's school an independent primary gave us terms notice which arrived the second day of the school holidays. I found a new school the next day but I really cannot afford to pay the Autumn term for the old one and the new one. The first school are insisting I pay or they will refer it to a debt collection agency.

If it's relevant the reason we were asked to leave was because I had complained to the school about a teacher and other matters and I was overheard by a snitch telling another parent about it in a private conversation.

I would quite prepared to defend my corner in court but I have no experience of debt collection agencies and find the whole thing quite alarming. If anyone has any experience in this area please let me know what I should expect.
guest0001

Post by guest0001 »

You entered into a financial contract with the school. We would have to give one terms notice if we were to take our child out of his independent school,so i assume it would be the same for you. If i have read your message correctly,then you are bound by that contract,and the school is by law, entitled to the terms fees. This is why private schools have these contracts. They have to protect their own interests.

Juliette.

Post by Guest »

You entered into a financial contract with the school. We would have to give one terms notice if we were to take our child out of his independent school,so i assume it would be the same for you.
I've read this as the school giving a terms notice for the child to leave not the other way round. Is there anything in your contract covering this? Would your new school be prepared to accept your child in the second term?