Outstanding primary or private preparatory?

Key Stages 1-2 and SATs advice

Moderators: Section Moderators, Forum Moderators

11 Plus Mocks - Practise the real exam experience - Book Now
mentat

Outstanding primary or private preparatory?

Post by mentat »

Hello everyone,

I am relatively new to the UK and London, have two children (my son is starting Reception this September, and my daughter is due to start in 2019).
The local state school my son has been accepted into, just around the corner, is "outstanding", but how reflective this rating actually is of the quality of teaching? The nursery they have been attending also was given an "outstanding" rating, while I personally would not rate it above "average", and was quite surprised at the assessment result.
I tried to meet his class teacher before he starts, but was quite harshly brushed off and advised to read the prospectus.
The open day for new reception entrants was rushed through, and - to be honest - the parent population at the workshop day scared me a little bit. The teacher asked whether there are "working mums" in the new class as they expect parents to subscribe to a rota to come into the class to assist the teacher with reading etc (??? Is this even legal?), and apparently there is only one apart from me.
Now I think whether I made a big mistake by not considering a private prep school. I never researched it in detail, thinking that it must be for aristocracy / very well off people, but it turns out it is relatively affordable. With some careful financial planning, I will just about manage two sets of fees.
I am in South East London, so within relatively easy reach of Colfe's, Blackheath, St Olave's (with a stretch). Dulwich is unfortunately is a little bit far away.
Both my children are quite bright, but English is not their first language, their English speaking father has moved abroad (so there is no one really to help with that), and my daughter is very shy.