BUCKS Appeals

Consult our experts on 11 Plus appeals or any other type of school appeal

Moderators: Section Moderators, Forum Moderators

11 Plus Mocks - Practise the real exam experience - Book Now
patricia

BUCKS Appeals

Post by patricia »

Dear All

The day after the results has arrived. Some will be elated, some will be bitterly disappointed.

For those who are disappointed, its now time to channel those unwanted feelings into something positive.

I confess I am not an expert on appeals, but I know a fair bit. There may be others out there who have been through the process and can offer advice/give support.

It is not the end of the world, your child may perform exceedingly well in an upper school. If your not happy with that, get that appeal going NOW.

Patricia
Smita

Post by Smita »

What are the steps involved in a (Bucks) appeal, and is it equally relevant to people from outside the area?
Smita

Post by Smita »

My son got 119 and 118 but we live in Northwood Hills, just outside the area.
Mike Edwards

Post by Mike Edwards »

Hello Patricia

Just climbed up from the lowly depths of the Wirral site to the heady heights of Bucks.

When considering appeals to any LEA the parents should have good cause to appeal, just because they think their child is bright is not good cause. Likewise if a child has not been prepared properly for the test, as your students have been, that is not good cause.

I am sure that many parents of children who have not passed the test will come up with all sorts of weird and wonderful reasons why their child should be considered for a grammar school place. At the end of the day the majority of children who did not pass are probably not suited to the grammar system that is quite highly academic and requires commitment from both the child and parent.

I am going to relate two honest scenarios that two of my students are faced with at the moment.