Another "rewards" thread with a rant thrown in :)

Discussion of all things non-11 Plus related

Moderators: Section Moderators, Forum Moderators

11 Plus Platform - Online Practice Makes Perfect - Try Now
Chelmsford mum

Another "rewards" thread with a rant thrown in :)

Post by Chelmsford mum »

My eldest did an early GCSE yesterday.She and most of her year, judging by previous years, is expected to get an A*.
At dinner time this lead to a discussion between her and her friends about rewards when they do all of their GCSEs.It would seem that the vast majority of her peers have been promised a sum ranging from £30 - £100 for each A* they get, starting with yesterday's exam.

More than one has been promised a car :shock: :shock: for good exam results.

At the risk of sounding like an old lady, I received nothing for my GCSE or A level results.I did get taken for a meal and got a small gift when I graduated.I didn't resent this.Perhaps I am strange (don't answer that) but I regarded the results as the reward.
I think I will probably take my daughter out for a meal of her choice when she finishes her exams (not when she gets the results), to reward the effort. I might treat her to an new outfit if funds allow but not linked to the results.There are so many ways in which I think lavish rewards for academic achievement are sending out the wrong message.
Am I alone..... :?
chicko-mum

Re: Another "rewards" thread with a rant thrown in :)

Post by chicko-mum »

No you're not - alone that is (won't comment on being strange :D). I agree with you that you should reward effort and not results and your plan sounds good to me. We're nowehere near GCSEs yet, oldest DC Yr 5, but have found that words of praise can mean more to her than £ or a new top - lucky for us she doesn't have expectations of expensive pressies! :lol:
marigold

Post by marigold »

Thanks Chelmsford Mum, forewarned is forearmed.