Family History

Discussion of all things non-11 Plus related

Moderators: Section Moderators, Forum Moderators

Floss

Family History

Post by Floss »

I've been researching my family tree for the last 11 years, it started out as a vague interest in where my surname came from until it is now an obsession - not only my own family history but of anyone else who shows a slight interest :lol: Most of my family have no real interest in it and just humour me when I go on about it ! I'm just curious if anyone has been researching their own tree ?

Fiona
Snowdrops

Re: Family History

Post by Snowdrops »

Oh Yes :lol: :lol:

I've been doing it for about ten years now, but it's been put on hold for the last 3/4 years (I do still dip in and out of it now and then when I come across something though) as I have another major project on the go, and that will last for at least another three years.

I've got one of my lines right back to the 1500's. I love finding out about them. I'm lucky in as much as I live quite near to where some of them originated and I've been back to where they lived. Some of the houses are still standing and I've been lucky enough to go inside them too.

I find my Scottish line absolutely fascinating (both sides lead back to there :shock: ).

Most of all I love finding photos of them. It's wonderful to be able to look at someone from years ago and know, if it were not for them, you wouldn't be there.

It is addictive, no doubt about it, but I'm lucky a lot of my family are interested in it and ask me about it (they're quite happy for me to do all the work and fork out for the certificates though :lol: :lol: ).
Belinda

Post by Belinda »

Last edited by Belinda on Thu Nov 01, 2012 1:24 am, edited 1 time in total.
hermanmunster

Post by hermanmunster »

Oh yes - I do loads, I use Ancestry(dot)co(dot)uk