Forget STEM - it's PPE that runs the world!

Discussion of all things non-11 Plus related

Moderators: Section Moderators, Forum Moderators

11 Plus Mocks - Practise the real exam experience - Book Now
piggys

Forget STEM - it's PPE that runs the world!

Post by piggys »

For all those sharp elbowed helicopter parents driving their sons and daughters into STEM at university - the world is run, according to today's Guardian, by Oxford PPE graduates.

I studied humanities so therefore am incapable of copying/linking the article by Andy Beckett (although I can tell you everything you need to know about prose and poetry analysis and help with ELNAT and ELAT etc :lol:), so if someone could do that for me I would be grateful.

Any thoughts?

Link added for you - Moderator: https://www.theguardian.com/education/2 ... es-britain" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Warks mum

Re: Forget STEM - it's PPE that runs the world!

Post by Warks mum »

Of course that always assumes you believe politicians rule the world ;)
kenyancowgirl

Post by kenyancowgirl »

Warks mum....Is Trump a politician, then?....oh...no...wait.....! Drat!! If only he was even that......!!! :lol: :lol:
quasimodo

Post by quasimodo »

There was also this analysis in the guardian about the contents of the degree in 2013.I haven't checked to see if it has changed.

https://www.theguardian.com/education/2 ... ree-oxford" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
In the end, it's not the years in your life that count. It's the life in your years.

Abraham Lincoln
piggys

Post by piggys »

Thankyou mods :D
Catseye

Post by Catseye »

Indeed, what we need for the UK plc is more civil servants, politicians and journalists :lol: :lol:
loobylou

Post by loobylou »

This is what my 12 yo ds wants to do :cry:
Amber

Post by Amber »

loobylou wrote:This is what my 12 yo ds wants to do :cry: