Drop in percentage/s obtained: Real 11+ compared to practice

Discussion of the 11 Plus

Moderators: Section Moderators, Forum Moderators

11 Plus Mocks - Practise the real exam experience - Book Now
Fat pigeon

Drop in percentage/s obtained: Real 11+ compared to practice

Post by Fat pigeon »

Hi folks I'm a newbie from the Essex-Redbridge forum :D

I wonder are there any experienced campaigners who can give a rough idea. I appreciate that all our dc's have different temperaments, especially on the big day. ( saying that I'll probably be a gibbering wreck :wink: )

My young relative took the 11+ a few years ago.
He used to get around 99% in the VR, & obtained low 90s in the real thing.
He used to get around 95% in the NVR & obtained high 80s in the real thing.

So, roughly a 7% drop in both.

What are your experiences?
The good guys always win in the end - Up, up & away...
mystery

Re: Drop in percentage/s obtained: Real 11+ compared to prac

Post by mystery »

Ooh that's not an easy one to answer. Didn't get the raw scores after the real thing, and the marks obtained in practice sessions varied depending on the publisher and age range of the materials being used. Too many variables surely to get a feel for this? Even if children were practising the "real thing" at home (which they are not) some children's performance would improve under pressure and some children's would decline.
dez

Post by dez »

Our DD sat for the 2013 entry CSSE exam

For
- VR 93-100% in practice papaer and 98% in the real test.
- Eng 80-88% in practice past papers and 80% in real test.
- Maths 85-100% in practice past papers and 85% in the real test.
mystery

Post by mystery »

Your practice papers are past papers so it makes it easier to do this kind of comparison particularly if you are doing the past papers close to the real thing. However, in most areas past papers are not available. People are working from a multiplicity of different workbooks so comparison is flawed.