Just starting out for 2019 help

Eleven Plus (11+) in Bexley and Bromley

Moderators: Section Moderators, Forum Moderators

11 Plus Mocks - Practise the real exam experience - Book Now
Bexleyfirsttimer

Just starting out for 2019 help

Post by Bexleyfirsttimer »

Hi Everyone, I’m just starting out slowly with teaching my dd with the 11+ for 2019. I have study book and ten min tests but it’s a bit overwhelming where to begin. How did you devise a study plan. Did you just work through page by page or a specific strategy? Is there any advise on areas to tackle. Maybe your top 5 tips ? Thankyou for your guidance. I hope this post will help the many other following me in the coming year.
Ungratefulbiped

Re: Just starting out for 2019 help

Post by Ungratefulbiped »

I did the tutoring mostly myself. We picked it apart subject by subject just making sure we covered areas not yet covered in school. I used non-verbal tests for a bit of confidence building if he got frustrated as he always did well in those.
Maths is easy to work through as it's pretty black and white and easy to find practice on fractions or equations by googling.
We tried a lot of different strategies for vocabulary, which was our weakness. I had a white board we wrote a few words on everyday, we did flash cards we created from tests when we stumbled and we did writing short stories with the words. Not all at the same time just changed up what we were doing to keep it interesting.
Comprehension was another weakness and we just read and discussed motivations and context clues before attempting tests.
CGP and Bond 10 minutes were the best as short sharp practice once we built up some speed
PeppermintCreams

Post by PeppermintCreams »