How many GCSE's ?

Discussion and advice on GCSEs

Moderators: Section Moderators, Forum Moderators

11 Plus Platform - Online Practice Makes Perfect - Try Now
mum23

How many GCSE's ?

Post by mum23 »

Hi

I have a friend that has a nephew at Eton. She says the Head has said the boys only need to do 5 GCSE's as they don't need anymore.

Any idea why this is? and just curious,how many are your children doing?

Also why do so many children do 12 GCSE's ? Do they need that many ?

As you can tell I am new to all of this, so I would be grateful for your input.

Thanks
magwich2

How many GCSEs

Post by magwich2 »

To answer your question, DD did 13 GCSEs because it went some way towards relieving the boredom of being at school and because she wanted to do at least one more than her deadly rivals!
With hindsight I would say that 5 is not enough - the only point of the GCSEs as far as the child is concerned is the UCAS form. Most of the decent universities are looking at a collection of A and A* grades and if you don't have them you are going to stand out for all the wrong reasons!
I would also say that there is little point in doing most subjects unless you can get at least an A grade if you want to go to a good uni to read a popular subject.
Terrible that their entire education up to 16 culminates in a turgid collection of second rate exam qualifications but if that is the game then I guess you play it as well as you can!
KB

Post by KB »

I do know that a friend at a major public school did many fewer than our DC at state school but I'm sure it was more like 9.
Maybe its just 5 GCSEs & then they do some other qualifications?
I would say that 5 is not enough if you are looking at top Universities/ courses as they do look at GCSE grades.
Only thing I can suggest is that all the Eton boys take a gap year so apply to Uni after A2 results come out - thus the Unis have actual results to look at rather than GCSEs/AS grades as prediction of A2s?