How many GCSEs are good enough for Russel Group universities

Discussion and advice on GCSEs

Moderators: Section Moderators, Forum Moderators

11 Plus Mocks - Practise the real exam experience - Book Now
Hereitis

How many GCSEs are good enough for Russel Group universities

Post by Hereitis »

Hi all, I read many good advices here on different topics. Please advice re. how many GCSEs are considered good enough for Russel Group unis? My DD is keen to go into medicine special interested in Oxbridge! She is doing good so far. But we're not sure whether she should go for 10/12/more than 12. If she does more does it give more credit while attending uni interview or it helps in getting more UCAS points? Thanks in advance.
2littleboys

Re: How many GCSEs are good enough for Russel Group universi

Post by 2littleboys »

Hi Hereitis

Welcome!

I'm not an expert by any means-my eldest is sitting his GCSE's next year and the impression I have been given is that it is quality rather than quantity that matters most. Obviously it is a new grading system at the moment 1-9 but my understanding is that is would be far better to obtain 10 8's than 12 7's. However I'm sure someone will come along with a lot more understanding and experiece than I have.

What school does your daughter currently attend? (You can PM me if you don't want to put it on here) What advice does her school give? Is she planning on staying on there or moving somewhere else for sixth form?

2 little boys x
kenyancowgirl

Post by kenyancowgirl »

The majority of Universities look at your top 8 GCSEs - with the caveat that these include Maths, English x 2 and Science x 3, especially for something like Medicine. Most school's are looking to decrease the overall number to 10/11 as they have got significantly harder under the new 1-9 grades so I would be very wary if your school is suggesting 12+. It is certainly not necessary and could be counterproductive.