Go to navigation
It is currently Wed Oct 28, 2020 8:21 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2019 9:49 am 

DS currently has a Casio FX 85GT bought from Tesco for about a tenner which was fine for his GCSE and we'd been assuming he would continue with this for A level as it seemed to have all the scientific/mathematical functions.

He seemed to think that this might not be sufficient for A level though, and when we looked on Amazon my jaw almost hit the floor when some of the more advanced ones were coming up at over £100 :shock:

Will his existing FX 85GT be OK for A level or if not can anyone recommend something suitable. Obviously we want him to have something suitable for the course, but hopefully without spending the earth for a load of unnecessary bells and whistles.

PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2019 9:57 am 

The maths dept will tell you better. DD has a graphical calculator (that I can’t fathom out, and I’m an engineer). It was bought through school as a much cheaper cost than buying ourselves, so best to see if your school offer the same.

ETA it was about £50, rather than the £100. DD is off to see what model it is as she needs to pack for school tomorrow’s

PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2019 9:57 am 

School required DS to have the expensive one - school sold them, and then when he lost it a couple of days before his mocks (!) I ordered another one on Amazon. He did further maths so I'm not sure if the maths folk had to have them as well, but I think so. Ask the school.
This is the one they had to have

PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2019 9:58 am 

DS1 has just completed A level Maths and DS2 will be taking it too - they do have to have a different scientific calculator, which is bought through the school, but from memory it is only £25 max...

I will try and find out the model... crossed with others...

Our school uses this for Y12:

Casio FX-991EX ClassWiz Advance Scientific for Year 12 students studying Maths £23.50

PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2019 10:06 am