11+ Mock Exam Benefits and Disadvantages

Moderators: Section Moderators, Forum Moderators

11 Plus Platform - Online Practice Makes Perfect - Try Now
Lenazayka75

11+ Mock Exam Benefits and Disadvantages

Post by Lenazayka75 »

Hello Dear Parents,

This is my first time when I write a message with questions. So, I do apologizes for any mistakes beforehand :)

Our DS is preparing for 11+ entrance exams in 2019. I have looked with him carefully at the each school around us and shortlisted six; three state grammars and three private:

Queen Elizabeth's Grammar Boys (Barnet, Herts) - English & Math GL,
King Edward VI Grammar School ( Chelmsford, Essex) CSSE - more like CEM exam,
Colchester Royar Grammar Schoil ( Colchester, Esses) CSSE

Bishop's Stortford College ( Bishop Stortford, Hertfordshire) English & Math GL,
Bancroft's School ( Woodford Green, London) English & Math GL
Haileybury Imperial College (Hertford, Herts) English & Math, VR & NVR ( on computer)

Currently, we live on the boarder of Hertfordshire, Essex and London. We think to move closer to school if DS get a place. Unfortunately, The Latymer & DAO is not his preferences at all. He also selected three part-selective schools: Hockerill Anglo European College, Goffs Academy and Broxbourne school.

The boy is bright minded clever person, reads a lot books; good in Math and English; great swimmer and study art; he is bilingual and learn French as the third language. Nevertheless, DS is an emotional child ( even though he is optimistic) , sometimes hyperactive and can be easily distracted. I do tutoring at home ( CGP & Bond), and only on Friday we go to a tutor for an advice about unclear moments. DC is confident in a small team but it is difficult to predict how he will feel himself on the exams among of hundreds.

I heard that possible to book a mock exam. What do you think? Is it worth it?
Do I need a book two different tests (GL & CEM) or any one of them will be enough?