The do's and don'ts on A level result day. An idiots guide.

Discussion and advice on Sixth Form matters

Moderators: Section Moderators, Forum Moderators

11 Plus Platform - Online Practice Makes Perfect - Try Now
Catseye

The do's and don'ts on A level result day. An idiots guide.

Post by Catseye »

I am a novice at still stage of my children's education. I think it would be useful if 'old hands' were to give us a chronologic list/advise on what to do for all eventualities from catastrophic results to better than expected results.

Hoping for the latter but want to prepare for the former.

Good luck to all "squeaky bum time" as Sir Ferguson would say. :o
Guest55

Re: The do's and don'ts on A level result day. An idiots gui

Post by Guest55 »

There are some pointers on the A level thread ...
Catseye

Post by Catseye »

Just the person the brilliant g55 -I was thinking it would be a good sticky for future parents/candidates for it to be in one place unadulterated by other concerns.

btw, this would be a good time to thank you for all the help you have given to all irrespective if from Private or State education. Many thanks but I digress. :D
Guest55

Post by Guest55 »

Things do change from year to year but this is what I posted:

Unis get results this weekend so will be able to consider candidates who miss offers. Unis need to fill places so missing an offer by one grade [sometimes two] is not always a disaster.

Check how to get a paper re-marked before next Thursday - there is a 'fast track' process for people whose uni place depends on it.

https://www.ucas.com/ucas/undergraduate" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false; ... nd-appeals

I'd advise parents to encourage their son/daughter to log in to Track before getting results. This will tell them whether they are in ... and should the news not be great it's better to know before going into school.